Reading time…..

Do you think as a writer you sometimes need a break and just read?

Last week we had trouble with the internet so I could not go on for about a week. Incidentally I also took part in a reading challenge by the goodreads group My big fat booky Challenge-athon which meant I was to read 24 hours in 7 days.

Dear me I enjoyed that. I just sat there constantly reading and got through an awful lot of books. And I remembered how I used to do that in the olden days…….

…. yes the olden days when I was a teenager and life was half as difficult but felt double as :-). On top of that I have bought J.R.R. Tolkien’s “The Hobbit” and “Lord of the Rings” which I first read in those days and it just made me reminiscing.

I never had that feeling again just to dive into books and lose myself and let my phantasy run wild and get away from it all. When I got into my twenties I started to have trouble to find books I really wanted to read. But goodreads and my reading group in Norwich has really brought that back.

And I cherish this feeling. Can’t get enough of it. There are so many brilliant writers out there and so many brilliant genres as well.

And what has that brought to my writing? I have no idea to be honest 🙂 ……. maybe you have any?

tn_1363725166971

 

One thought on “Reading time…..

  1. There is nothing like escaping into a good book! I never got out of the reading habit, and sometimes have two or three going at a time. I do tend to slack off on it though when I am focused on a writing project. I am not sure if that is a good thing or a bad one, more an issue of not having time. Gad you are enjoying you time with Tolkien!

Leave a Reply

