Why is this blog called “Zara ~ A writing story”?

The Whirlpool Galaxy (Spiral Galaxy M51, NGC 5...

The Whirlpool Galaxy (Spiral Galaxy M51, NGC 5194) is a classic spiral galaxy located in the Canes Venatici constellation. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If you take the time to have a look at the beginning of this blog then you will see that it all started as a serial story:

The story I wanted to write originally. Something like the “Lord of the Rings” but with mainly female characters. If you follow the blog you can see many ups and downs, different trials to get the story going and then my decision not to write it any more. “20 years of trying and not getting anywhere is enough” I thought “Just let it go!”

And so I did! At that point I thought that poetry would be my sole writing destiny and blogging of course but well a #NaNoWriMo later I have realised that this is not the case. I actually do like to write something long but I just did not know how to get it going. Too many traps an aspiring author has to deal with.

Out of my frustration with my day job I got the idea to write a blog serial about a supermarket in the far future where I could deal with the “hardships” of the job and so “Morsmart at the end of the Galaxy” was born. I actually started it and it is fun to write. The quality of it is probably disputable but I see it as one of my “Training Camps” meaning I just go along and write and then learn with.

That is probably the best way to do it. So in the future on a Friday I will let you know where Rowan the main character in “Morsmart at the End of the Galaxy” has brought himself into it.

For now he has started his first day at Morsmart where he was employed to do Avatar Construction but Mrs Getawa the boss decides to put him to the cleaners who are a nice bunch but Rowan certainly has more talents. Of course there are two women involved one quite mysterious, the other a bit tomboyish and then there is “Catchy” the terrorist group which tries to make customers think what they are doing ~ or more what is done to them.

If you want a have a closer look what happened so far please have a look here:

What happened in…..

Back to the original question :-):

Zara was the main character of my first novel idea and I called the blog “a writing story” as it was supposed to show my developement as a writer: My ups and downs, my projects, what I have and what I am learning.

I have introduced you this week to the new set up of this blog where I show you the whole spectrum of my writing projects and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it.

 

One thought on “Why is this blog called “Zara ~ A writing story”?

  1. Pingback: A worrying leader ~ 28 « Morsmart at the End of the Galaxy

Leave a Reply

