Veni, Vidi, Vici ~ #NaNoWriMo #amwriting is finished

English: Rainbows, over Malmesjaur in Moskosel...

English: Rainbows, over Malmesjaur in Moskosel, Lappland Sweden july 14 2009, 7:15 PM Svenska: Regnbåger, sedd från Malmesjaurdammen i Moskosel, Lappland kl 19:15 14 juli 2009 Deutsch: Regenbogen, über Malmesjaur in Moskosel, Lappland 14.Juli 2009 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I can not believe it!

I have really done it!

As you can see at the side on my #NaNoWriMo badge I am now officially a winner and I finished with 50537 words. ( The google drive word count had said 50522 but never mind ;-).)

What an experience!

It was a total up and down. There were days when I could not manage more than 500 words and then others when I worked up to 4000 and yesterday even over 5000. Never thought I could write that much.

This achievement makes me enormously proud as it has taught me an awful lot:

~ writing needs buddies who cheer you on (Thanks Cheryl 🙂 )
~ you can always catch up when you are determined
~ I can finish to a deadline
~ a first draft is a first draft and not a finished novel
~ writing is the hardest work I have ever done but definitely the most satisfying!!!!!
~ I love what I am doing!

It feels already a bit like I am on cold turkey lol but I will survive (lalalalalaaaaa….. 😉 )

What comes next?

This first draft will rest until 2013 and then I will do my trainee editing. I have never edited a novel so I will read up and then just get on with it and learn on the go. Am thinking about self~publishing but I think I might put it on a blog first and then see what reactions will come. Hopefully honest ones that bring me on. I am proud of my baby but I also know that it is a bit kitsch. So maybe you dear readers out there might help me along?????

I will also compress my blog writing. But you will see how that will go ~ surprise surprise 😉

You out there take care! To you #NaNoWriMo winners: congrats! To you still writing: You can do it! To you who struggle to reach the 5000: it’s the taking part that matters!

I will allow myself a well deserved pause with hopefully loads of reading and will be back on Monday! Can’t wait to hear from you guys!

9 thoughts on “Veni, Vidi, Vici ~ #NaNoWriMo #amwriting is finished

  1. Pingback: NaNo ’12 Day 28 | Side Quest Publications

    • Me too. It is morning and I have a cup of tea but tonight it will be a lovely Merlot (wooha I love Riesling 🙂 ) thanks for your support. would not have made it this week without you. 🙂

  2. Pingback: hope ~ #MondayPrompt (#amwriting #poetry) | Zara ~ a writing story

  3. Pingback: I need a little magic… | Zara ~ a writing story

Leave a Reply

