Getting into gear

I am proud to announce I am getting there ;-).

Well at least I have pre-written all my blog posts from Monday onwards as I will be on holiday as well as getting married just the day before NaNoWriMo starts. What a set up :-)!

To be honest I am immensely proud I have managed that. I have set a goal and achieved it.

In the last few days I have not been working at all on the novel. My characters are outlined and I think I have to go into more detail after NaNo. I have started a scene list which hopefully will guide me along but I am not happy with it as it is. Still thinking about the form of the whole thing and probably figuring out the plot. Therefore I will use the last couple of days for working on that list and then I just keep going I guess…. I will also use the time to read some archived pep talks and what ever else I can find about NaNo. Not quite sure yet how the word count thing works. Where do I submit it and how often? Just in the end? Well, I am sure I will find out somehow :-).

Am thinking a lot about the fact that I have so many projects started but never finished. So much creativity wasted and so much energy used on unsatisfying day jobs! Really sad, don’t you think?But I know I am there now: I have started to follow through my goals and I am learning more and more about writing itself.

The most important insight I have gained lately? The first draft can be sh…! You work it over and make it into a jewel like polishing a diamond! That is the hard bit I suppose but I am determined to learn the craft and at last I feel happy :-).

What about you? Are you taking part in NaNoWriMo? Is it your first time or are you a veteran already?  Do you have any tips?

I am looking forward to read from you :-)!

One thought on “Getting into gear

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Writers Rock! « RachelleHarp

Leave a Reply

