Do you need a sidekick for your creativity? (#amwriting)

Lately I have realised that a lot of my poems are inspired by music. Somehow music does stir some muse in myself and keeps me writing. I have also realised that I can relax a lot when taking photographs so when I really can not get into writing I just get my mobile or camera and play around.

That is why I started to wonder if you need a sidekick creative activity for your creative work. Julia Cameron gave the advice in her book “The Artists Way” to have a day off per week to play around as creativity seems to work best in a playful surrounding. It does not work if it is a task and a responsibility according to her theory. In my experience this is true. I love blogging and writing but when life gets tough and writing is more on a schedule than fun then I just lose it.

If I start playing around with something like the free writing or the photography I get that fun back and can go on writing.

Therefore I think you need a sidekick for your creativity but what about you? Do you have a sidekick creative activity or does it come naturally not matter how the mood?

Leave a Reply

