proofread and #editing (#amwriting #blogging)

Now that I am more into writing my thoughts go more and more towards proofreading and editing.

To be honest I feel like I have no idea what I am doing when I proofread and edit. Well, of course checking all the spelling and grammar as far as I am capable of as well as checking if it all makes sense. But what else do you have to have a look at?

For one I try to get my five senses in: Does the text not only see but also smell, feel, hear and taste? It makes a text so much more alive when you think about those and try to get some in. For me it is a learning curve. I have just started thinking about that even when I write so there is some improvement to be expected :-).

Also the famous: Do not explain – make it happen! Whenever we can we should write in active mode that the hero experiences something not that the author describes something to the reader. I find that really difficult. Especially when I need to write about feelings and how people express those. It needs a lot of attention to get that bit right. But it is also fun to re-read and change things into the active.

What else am I missing with editing? See if the tense is right.

If you write in past tense stay in past tense. I have no idea why I constantly jump tenses. Maybe it is just natural but it annoys me enormously that I have to spend so much time on checking these bits.

Well, have I missed an important point of proofreading and editing? I can not think about anything else but am sure there is more. Maybe you know and want to tell me :-)?

5 thoughts on “proofread and #editing (#amwriting #blogging)

  1. I think you’ve ticked all the boxes, but I have a problem with point of view. I like to switch the POV within a scene – to show how the other person reacts, think, etc. A highly respected publisher told me I shouldn’t do that, it confuses the reader. Now I’m a slave to the advice and I have to keep checking. I guess we all have these personal issues.

    • well I have been reading “The Colonel” by Mahmoud Dowlatabadi who changes point of view as well. Yes it does confuse readers but it also makes the reading process interesting. It might not be for everyone but it is certainly challenging and I like that :-). Thanks for stopping by and your compliment 🙂

Leave a Reply

