Writing spaces (#amwriting, #blogging)

This morning when I signed into WordPress.com my eye fell on the blog entry “Shop Talk: Freelance Workspaces Volume!” by Nathan Meunier who writes besides others for Nintendo Power and Playstation: The Official Magazine.

It made me think! (Oh yea I do that sometimes 😉 )

It made me think about my writing space. I actually do not have a special place where I write. What I need for good creativity is a cup of tea, a snack now and then and a window to look out of. That and the cup of tea seems to be the most important. From where I sit now I can see parts of our garden and the neighbour’s house and eucalyptus tree and a bit of sky. When I can’t get on then I just stare into space and let my mind run wild. Sooner or later I can get on. Well, getting up dancing around to get my body active again or to get another cup of tea helps as well :-).

I downloaded “A room of one’s own” by Virginia Woolf (one of my favourite authors) to my kindle which is about the fact that women need a space of their own to write (as any other author) but usually do not have one. Now I do not mind. I love to be in our family space preferable when everybody is out but it also works when they are here.

Am wondering if there are different sorts of writers or if there is a new one born as we get more and more free where we can write with laptops that can go everywhere and mobiles that are a little office of their own.

We can take our writing devices everywhere and therefore can write everywhere. I think that is a brilliant development!
Photobucket

the moon over our neighbours eucalyptus tree

Leave a Reply

