Why don’t I write in my mother tongue?

I have been wondering a lot for a long time why I hardly write in my mother tongue.

Strangely I have always felt more comfortable to write in English. I don’t mind to translate what I wrote into German and really enjoy that but if I get creative it is in English. I have read some of the refugee poets and authors from WWII like Hilde Domin or Kurt Tucholski and most of them missed talking in German. They mainly did their writing and poems in German which just seems natural.But for me it is hard to talk in German. I feel strange, miss words or the way you say different things. It is not that I do not know it any more. It just does not feel comfortable.

Have been thinking about this more after I read Diego Marani‘s “New Finish Grammar” which is about language and identity. What does this say about my identity both as a person and as an author? I often think in more mystical ways like I was supposed to be born in an English speaking country and just have come home at last. Well actually that is exactly how it feels like for me: I have come home at last both in language and in the country.

A good thing really for an immigrant and a compliment for the country. It still strikes me as strange and I wonder what it means for me!

 

3 thoughts on “Why don’t I write in my mother tongue?

  1. Do try reading Helena Drysdale book Mother Tongues. She looks at the issue of language and identity and visits the places in Europe that have a minority language that the speakers are trying to keep alive. And it’sbeautifully written.

  2. Pingback: Kurt Tucholsky | Seit über 10.000 Jahren Erfahrung in Versklavung

Leave a Reply

